News release
Public Information Office   SLU 10880   Hammond, LA 70402   phone: 985-549-2341   fax: 985-549-2061 Spring 2004 news releases Public Information home News archive

Contact: Angey Murray
Date: 3/31/05
Region VIII Social Studies Fair 2005 winnersClick on image for publication quality photo 

REGION VIII SOCIAL STUDIES FAIR WINNERS – Winners of the 2005 Region VIII Social Studies Fair, held at Southeastern Louisiana University are, front, John Walz, Johnny Crain, Sarah Bourgeois, Laura McGinn, Christian White, Briana Joseph, Gabrielle Braud, Elizabeth Guarisco, Murphy Fleenor, Austin Harrison; back, Martine Domangue, Della Hebert, Ryan Zimmerman, Joseph Sage, Wesley Clark, Edward Michael Dussom, Joseph Tenini and Sarah Schnadelbach.

       HAMMOND -- Winners of the annual Region VIII Social Studies Fair, hosted March 23 by Southeastern Louisiana University, have been announced.
       More than 400 elementary, junior high and high schools students from 47 schools from Tangipahoa, St. Tammany, Livingston and Washington parishes participated. 
       Grand prize winners for individual and group projects were chosen in three divisions, Division I (grades 4?6), Division II (grades 7?8), and Division III (grades 9?12). They will advance to the state Social Studies Fair at Louisiana State University May 2.
       INDIVIDUAL: Grand prize, Briana Joseph, “The Freedom Summer of 1964,” Cedarwood School (Mandeville); runner-up, Christian White, “What’s Up Doc,” Cedarwood School.
       GROUP: Grand prize, Sarah Bourgeois and Laura McGinn, “Blazing Bonfires,” Our Lady of the Lake (Mandeville); runner-up, Johnny Crain and John Walz, “The Southeast Research Station,” Columbia Street Magnet (Bogalusa).
       INDIVIDUAL – Grand prize, Austin Harrison, “Profit By Using a Number Card,” Mandeville Junior High School; runner-up, Murphy Fleenor, “If America Knew,” Holy Ghost Catholic School (Hammond).
       GROUP – Grand prize, Elizabeth Guarisco and Gabrielle Braud, “It’s a Small World?,” Cedarwood School; runner-up, Martine Domangue and Della Hebert, “Saving Mustangs and Burros From Extinction,” Christ Episcopal School (Covington).
       INDIVIDUAL – Grand prize, Sarah Schnadelbach, “The Answer’s Blowing in the Wind,” Hammond High School; runner-up, Joseph Tenini, “Game Theory,” St. Thomas Aquinas High School (Hammond).
       GROUP – Grand prize, Wesley Clark and Edward Michael Dussom, “The Reign of Emperor Quianlong,” St. Paul’s School (Covington); runner-up, Joseph Sage and Ryan Zimmerman, “Where Is My Home?,” St. Paul’s School.