News release
Public Information Office  SLU 10880   Hammond, LA 70402   phone: 985-549-2341   fax: 985-549-2061 Spring 2004 news releases Public Information home News archive

Contact: Christina Chapple
Date: 4/27/04
      HAMMOND -- Southeastern Louisiana University Women’s Chorale, University Chorus and Northshore Chorale will join voices on May 4 for a concert titled “Five Mystical Songs.”
      Conducted by Southeastern choral director Alissa Mercurio Rowe, the ensembles will perform at 7:30 p.m. at Hammond’s First Baptist Church, 401 W. Morris St. The concert is free.
      The Northshore Chorale is made up of area residents who enjoy singing --  from students and educators to architects, attorneys, nurses and electricians. The University Chorus is a non-audition ensemble, open to all Southeastern students. 
      The 22-voice Women’s Chorale will open the concert. Accompanied by pianist Hristo Birbochukov, the singers will perform “Today, this spring” by Libby Larsen, “Six Choruses, Op. 15" by Sergei Rachmaninoff, “I thank you God” by Gwyneth Walker, and “Riawanna” by Stephen Leek.
      Following intermission, the University Chorus and Northshore Chorale will sing “The Promise of Living” from Aaron Copland’s “The Tender Land,” “Laudate Dominum” from Mozart’s “Vesperae solennes de Confessore,” and “Praise His Holy Name” by Keith Hampton. The choirs will be accompanied by pianist Charles Effler.
      The choirs’ performance of the concert’s title work, Ralph Vaughan Williams’ “Five Mystical Songs,” will feature baritone James Flick and pianist Irina Cunev. 
      Members of the Northshore Chorale are sopranos Laura Freeney, Beth Ann Johnson, Myra Lamonte, Erin Long, Beverly Pinion, Susan Siren, Tracy Tribou; altos Andrea Bell, Fay Bright, Rosa Dunn, Cindy Freeney, Linda Hemberger, Clara Hemberger, Grace Hu, Stacey Long, Kimberly Neuenswander, Shirly Pistorius, Mattie Rojas-Delaney, Jane Robinson, Kandy Russell, Kathryn Urrutia, Karen Williams and Katy Windecker; tenors Kirk Bell, Joe Lamonte, Robert Palmer and Michael Rickenbaker; and bass Jaime Diaz and John Majesty.
      University Chorus members are sopranos April Aylor and Erin Perdue, Ponchatoula; Katie Bates, Elizabeth Brown, and Kimberly Hilliard, Covington; Alicia Champlain, Hammond; Carly Kambur, Mandeville; Stephanie Kocher, Baton Rouge; Melissa McKey, Denham Springs; Renita Pea, Salt Flats; Mary Ann Phillips, Greenwell Springs; and Lauren Villalobos, Chalmette.
      Altos are Janel Matthews, Jackson; Christina Menke and Michelle Menke, Hammond; Dryn Minor, Luling; Patricia Ramirez, Tegucigalpa, Honduras; Charlene Robinson, Ponchatoula; and Glen Marie Young, Covington.
      Tenors are Peter Cooper, Brooklyn, N.Y.; Johnathan Fandal, Pearl River; Brian Martinez, Montz; Marc Marullo and Jacob Hatty, Mandeville; Matthew Packard, Arabi; James Ponder, Zachary; and Brandon Wear, Slidell.
      Bass are Roy Curole, Siberia; Douglas Devall and Aaron Turnipseed, Baton Rouge; Daniel Holmes, Ponchatoula; Rosarian Hurtel and Jason Russell, Prairieville; Colby McCurdy and Scott McDonough, Slidell; Philip Monroe, Arabi; Matt Spears, Frierson; and Jared Toomey, Slidell.
      Women’s Chorale sopranos are Christina Babin, Prairieville; Rachael Dantin and Jessica Davis, Ponchatoula; Stephanie Kocher, Baton Rouge; Kimberly Hilliard, Covington; Katie Morgan and Cali McQueen, Gonzales; Melissa McKey, Denham Springs; Stephanie Robertson, Hammond; and Lauren Villalobos, Chalmette.
      Altos are April Aylor and Jessica Cressionnie, Ponchatoula; Maria Burkett, Chalmette; Kristin Glass, Denham Springs; Rachel Johnson, Mandeville; Angela Kell, Baton Rouge; Michelle LeBlanc, Gonzales; Leslie Palmer, Erika Simmons and Betty Turner, Hammond; Mary Ann Phillips, Greenwell Springs, and Amy Usner, Metairie. 
      For additional information about the concert, Contact Rowe at 985-549-2334.