News release
Public Information Office   SLU 10880   Hammond, LA 70402   phone: 985-549-2341   fax: 985-549-2061 Spring 2004 news releases Public Information home News archive

Contact: Christina Chapple
Date: 5/11/04
Click on image for publication quality photo

SOUTHEASTERN ROLE MODEL OF THE YEAR – Keyunta Perkins of Hammond receives the African American Alumni Chapter Role Model award, the highest among Southeastern Louisiana University’s African American Achievement Awards.

      HAMMOND -- Keyunta Perkins of Hammond is the recipient of the African American Alumni Chapter Role Model award, the highest honor presented at Southeastern Louisiana University’s African American Achievement Awards ceremony.
      The ceremony, sponsored annually by the Office of Multicultural and International Student Affairs, recognized African American students who have demonstrated outstanding accomplishments in academics, athletics and leadership, said Eric Summers, Multicultural and International Student Affairs director.
      Selected along with Perkins as finalists for the top award were Verna Laird of Pearl, Miss., and Brandon Parker of New Orleans. The winner, announced at the Division of Student Affairs honors convocation on April 28, received a stipend from the Southeastern African American Alumni Chapter.
      Wanda Evans, assistant director of Veterans Affairs, received the Outstanding Service Award, presented to a faculty or staff member “who has gone far beyond to ensure the development of students and student organizations,” Summer said. The award is chosen from among the nominees of student organizations.
      “Pinnacle” awards, which recognize students with the highest grade point average in their class, were presented to Janice I. Ezegbunam of Nassau, Bahamas, and Roger James of Loranger, senior class; Erica D. Robinson of Natalbany and Charles E. Dabney Jr. of Baton Rouge, junior class; Krystle N. Payton of Springfield and Michael R. Hall of French Settlement, sophomore class; and Elaina L. Brown of Houma, Kristy H. Jenkins of New Orleans and DeRon Dumes of LaPlace, freshman class.
      Basketball players Nakeya Downing of Amite and Amir Abdur-Rahim of Fulton, Ga., received the Athlete award. Project PULL Awards went to Erin Wheeler of Amite and Michael Kyles of Baton Rouge. Project PULL (Promoting United through Leadership and Learning) is a mentoring program connecting freshmen with faculty, staff academic mentors and upperclass peer advisors.
      Laquisha Thompson of Natalbany and Willie Lewis of Franklinton were chosen for the Outstanding Campus Leader awards from among students nominated by the presidents of student organizations. The Unity Award, which is presented to the student organization that has worked hardest to bring about unity and cooperation among students, went to Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority. Delta Sigma Theta Sorority was recognized for the “Program of the Year.”
      Students receiving the “Milas Love Award,” presented to freshmen with a 3.5 grade point average or higher and no developmental course work, were Sarah Robertson of Hammond; Josette Graham, Vanessa Pines and Talancia Shelvin of Ponchatoula; Ashley Thomas of Natalbany; Erin Wheeler of Amite; Glen Marie Young of Loranger; Keren West of Pearl River; Christina Cousin, Fallon Ducree and Tyra Navarre of Slidell; Jacquelyn Funches of Folsom; Chanell Bradford of Metairie; Elena Dejoie, Kristy Jenkins and Danielle Leonard of New Orleans; DeRon Dumes of LaPlace; Shan Encalade of Meraux; Brittney Harris and Paulette Taku of Baton Rouge; Fatemah Ruth of Baker; and Elaina Brown of Houma.
      Senior 3 Plus Award recipients, who have at least a 3.0 grade point average, were Louvenia Askew, Chiquita Baylor and Treva Carter of Hammond; Samantha Brister and Eureka Dalton of Independence; Jada Agomuo and Shaquania Griffin of Natalbany; Dana Brown of Slidell; Sean Faciane of Lacombe; Karneshia Harry of Angie; Katressa Dillon of Franklinton; Courtney Adams, Rachelle Adams and Raymond Campbell of LaPlace; Latesha Charbonnet of New Orleans; Cormesha Davis of Ethel; Lamona Elmore and Tynette Hawkins of Baton Rouge; and Janice Ezegbunam of Nassau, Bahamas.